For the second year running, a 1928 Ford Tudor of Phoenix Aviation has emerged the overall winner of the CBA Africa Concours d’Elegance which folded its curtains at the Nairobi Racecourse yesterday.

This is the fourth time the Phoenix Ford Tudor has won “the car beaty contest” what with previous victories in 2009, 2010 and 2013.

Phoenix Aviation’s Mohammed Paruez amassed a total of 279 points to complete an emphatic back to back success before an enthusiastic crowd that was treated to some exhilarating displays at the Racecourse.

The Phoenix Tudor- entered in class 13 of veteran, vintage and post vintage cars made up to December 31, 1940, was incidentally the last car to be judged in the CBA sponsored event and emerged the winner with an impressive six point margin over the Diccon Wilcock entered 1951 MG TD.

Third overall in the cars class was Sati Gata-Aura with a 1977 Nissan 160J.

The top motorcycle prize was captured by the fourth bike to be assessed—the Sati’s Classics 1925 DWK on 183points.  This is the third straight win by the DWK and the fourth since 2007. Sati is no stranger to the Concours having entered several previous events. He achieved the third slot with 183 points.

 The Sati’s Classic DWK was 9 points ahead of runner-up Keith Bakker with a 1969 Honda 750.

The leader board changed two times during the Concours which was the 44th in the annual series organised by the Alfa Romeo Owners Club.

As cars mounted the Total ramp and continued along the judging line in front of the Nairobi Racecourse grandstand, the early pace setter was the 1977 Nissan 160J which had been prepared by Sati Gati-Aura.

Shortly afterwards the 1951 MG TD of Wilcock took over the lead and clung onto it until the Phoenix Ford Tudor of Mohammed Paruez snatched the lead at the eleventh hour.

Spectators flocked to the Elegance pavilion for a break between watching the judging of the classic and vintage cars and motorcycles and viewing the motor trade stands while officials set to work on the assessment of 64 cars entered in this year’s event.

The event’s closing ceremony was presided over by Nairobi County Governor Dr. Evans Kidero.

Overall Results

1. Phoenix Aviation (Ford Tudor, 1928) 279points

2. Diccon Wilcock (MG TD, 1951) 273

3. Sati Gata-Aura (Nissan 160J, 1977)

4. Phoenix Aviation (Jaguar Mark V, 1951) 272

5. Phoenix Aviation (VW Beetle, 1958) 266

6. Brian Barton (MG TC, 1948) 262

7. John Wroe (Ford Tudor, 1930) 259

8. Karl Pleitz (MGB-GT, 1973) 259

9. Vitaform Products Limited (Austin Mini, 1972) 258

10. Gayling May (Alfa Romeo Sprint, 1967) 255


Class 3 : Touring cars and station wagons up to 1000cc

1. Vitafoam Products Ltd. -Austin Mini -1972/ 258points

2. Maina Muthuma-Morris Minor-1954/ 227points

3. Paul Chemngorem- Morris Minor-1960/219

Class 4: Touring cars and station wagons from 1001cc to 1300cc

1. Phoenix Aviation (VW Beetle-1958) 266points

2. Paul Chemngorem- (VW Karman Ghia-1960) 213

3. Paul Chweya (Peugeot 203-1959) 195

Class 5. Touring cars and station wagons from 1301cc to 1600cc

1. Sati Gati-Aura (Nissan 160J-1977) 273points

2. Paul Chemngorem (Toyota Celica-1975) 213points

3. Francis Njau Kungu (Riley-1951) 174

Class 6. Touring cars and station wagons from 1601cc to 1800cc

1. Karl Pleitz (MGB-GT-1973) 259points

2. Anil Lakhani (MGB-1967) 215points

3. Rishi Chandaria (Alfa Romeo Giulietta -1983) 206points

Class 7.  Touring cars and station wagons from 1801cc to 2000cc

1. Arun’s Auto Ltd (BMW 2002-1974) 241points

2. Arun’s Auto Ltd (BMW 2000-1971) 227points

3. Claude Mwende (Peugeot 406SV -2001) 205points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here