FMU.jpgFans were left disappointed after the crew of Godfrey Lubega and Joseph Kamya crashed and rolled the newly acquired Subaru N12 at Busiika during the FMU Sprint championship that was won by Ronald Ssebuguzi in Mistibish Evo9.

Lubega who paired with Robert Kasana also in a Suburu, was in the outside lane when he failed to negotiate a corner and rammed into a barrier that separated the two lanes, lost control and rolled the car he was driving for the fast time in a competition.

“We came at a high speed and hit that small pothole and just realized when we had rolled,” Lubega stated.

The crew of Ssebuguzi and Cedric Buzabo in a Mistibish Evo9 clocked a time of nine minutes, thirty nine seconds and six micro-seconds (09:39:06) beating defending champion Shafique Ssemujju who finished second by twenty eight seconds and six micro-seconds.

Ssebuguzi, who paired with Arthur Blick Jr narrowly survived defeat when the latter’s car got an engine failure after pressing a wrong button in a corner.

Ssebuguzi later attributed his victory to his car that didn’t develop any mechanical condition despite the bad muddy track.

“I had the determination to win a mzungu in a new car and I was lucky that my car didn’t let me down. Blick gave me pressure and I think he is going to be one of the best drivers in future,” Ssebuguzi stated.

To win the overall sprint championship, Ssebuguzi must now win the last sprint event and contenders Ssemujju and Jonas Kansiime finish above fifth positions.

However, Shafique Ssemujju is targeting finishing in the top three positions to retain the title he won
last year.

Joshua’ Kato’s car was too weak to finish the event and had to seek the assistance of a breakdown.
Kato left Busiika disappointed: “I have learnt a lesson and I have to start working on the car and also buy tyres,” Kato stated.

Meanwhile police and FMU officials had to come to the rescue of female fans that came dressed in mini-dresses as rowdy men wanted to undress them. The ladies hid in the toilet till police and FMU officials came to their rescue.

FMU sprint championship results
1. Ronald Ssebuguzi 09:39:06
2. Shafique Ssemujju 10:07:12
3. Arthur Blick Jr 10:10:38
4. Black Widow 10:26:51
5. Peter Kalule 10:31:26
6. Jonas Kansiime 10:37:27

Sprint Championship standing:
1. Shafique Ssemujju 15pts.
2. Jonas Kansiime 12pts.
3. Ronald Ssebuguzi 11pts.
4. Duncan Mubiru 10pts.
5. Arthur Blick 7pts

Courtesy of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here