By Feverpitch Reporter

The 2008 Kenya Rally Champion BaldevChager, in his chopped-up Subaru N10, was the star attraction as the second round of the Kenya National Autocross Championship ended at Jamhuri Park racetrack on Sunday.Chager, led his Kabras Racing Sugar Racing outfit to a 1-2-3 podium finish in the Open Class, restricting OnkarRai to second position and AnishChouhan third.Rai’s cumulative total after his best of three heart runs was 5.30.45 minutes in the same Subaru buggy he shared with Chager. Chager, who has two series wins so far, completed the competition in 5:16.38 minutes.
Jas Nandhra won the 2WD Turbo Class followed by Bob by Sehmi and AmitPandya in that order.Gurmeet Mehta recovered from a disappointing start in his round one debut last month to win the 2WD Non-Turbo class. Even after rolling on his first heat run, Gurmeet, who won the 4*4 during Athi Challenge this year, beat SachinChoda and youngster TejasHirani. It was a remarkable comeback for Jazz Nandhra this season.

Second career win
This wasNandhra’s second career win since claiming fifth round honours last season before going into sabbatical.Nandhra displayed a good showing in the 2WD Turbo Class, clocking 5:30.90 minutes despite not having completed in any race this season.“It feels great to win again. The last time I drove here was when I won a race last year. This is my first overall again in the 2WD turbo class. It was however a good fight with the rest of the boys,” said Nandhra who made his buggy debut in 2011.
Behind Nandhra was Bobby Sehmi, who finished second in 5:31.70 in a buggy which he shared with HardeepRehsi.Sehmi beat AmitPandya to thirdplace.“Firstly, the track layout was well placed out and fast, but a few wet mud sports hindering us in the morning run though after drying up in one mishap of touching the tape set us back again. But I quickly made up for the undoing in heat four which was my fastest run but we are happy to settle for third by two milli-seconds behind Sehmi,” said Amit.

Sellected results Autocross 2

2 WD Non-Turbo
1.    G. Mehta        5.45.88
2.    SachinChoda        5.48.10
3.    TejasHirani (Buggy)    5.49.73
4.    Sammy Nyorri        6.07.44
5.    Moses Mugo        6.21.72
6.    Daren Miranda        6.22.30
7.    Joan Nesbitt (Toyota Tercel)    6.34.53

2WD Turbo
1.    Jazz Nandhra(Buggy)    5.30.90
2.    Bobby Sehmi(Buggy)    5.31.70
3.    AmitPandya (Buggy)    5.31.72
4.    HardeepRehsi (Buggy)    5.37.55
5.    KabirKalsi (Buggy)    5.39.48
6.    Shalien Mughal        5.39.88
7.    Samir Khan        5.42.28
8.    PavitKenth        5.42.77
9.    JasneilGhataure    5.45.45
10.  Charles Mugo(Buggy)    5.46.02

Open Class
1.    BaldevChager(Sub buggy)    5.16.88
2.    OnkarRai (Sub Buggy)        5.30.45
3.    AnishChouhan (Sub NIO)    5.34.11
4.    Imran Mughal (Subaru)        5.45.84
5.    G. Njoroge            5.47.72
6.    Asad Khan (Sub legacy)        5.49.46   
7.    TejvirRai (Subaru N10)        5.51.01
8.    NziokaWaita (Sub-N10)        6.10.07
9.    Rajesh Maini            6.31.50
10.  Daljeeth Singh            6.48.17

Courtesey of The Standard (Tuesday, 26 March 2013)                                                                                       

Next article100 students climb Mt Kenya
Extreme Outdoors Africa was born out of a love for the spectacular African outdoors coupled with the founders’ appreciation for sport and the myriad of benefits associated with living an active life. It is a lifestyle brand that is credible, professional, reliable, and accurate that aims to comprehensively cover the realm of outdoor activity in Africa.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here