Controversy marred the 2015 National Cycling Championship which covered 160 kilometers that started and finished at Iganga over the weekend.

The official results were protested after the winner, Sebastine Kigongo, who crossed the tape first with a timing of 4 hours, 43 minutes and 24 seconds was reportedly implicated to have elbowed Eritrean born cyclist, Brian Barhane.

By the time of the incident, Barhane was in the lead before he slipped to fourth in the pecking order.

By the end of the race, there was no clear cut winner after Barhane and his captain, David Matovu complained to the organizers.

The competitions committee convened a day later (Monday evening 6th July 2015) at KK Trust Hotel in Kampala to resolve matters that a rose.

In the meeting, the head of the disciplinary committee, Patrick Ochola, the competitions secretary Adam Ssali, head of marketing and sponsorship, Mathius Lukwago, Fredrick Kalyango Media officer, Kigogo Sebastine (the said offender), Brain Barhane the offended and his team captain David Matovu.

“The two players came to a conclusion that results should stand as originally produced and that means Kigongo Sebastian is the champion of the event. The awards ceremony will be communicated to you in time other factors remaining constant” an official communication released by Fredrick Kalyango stated.

The next event on the local cycling calendar is the Kampala Tour.

The Full Results:

2015 National Cycling Championship:

Elite Cyclists (160 KM): Sebastine Kigongo 4:43:24 Samuel Sabagwanyi 4:43:26 David Matovu 4:43:30 Brian Barhane 4:43:40 Azizi Ssempala 4:44:10 Joseph Malala 4:43:24 Charles Kagimu 4:44:35 Robert Muyinda 4:44:36 Edward Bukenya 4:44:38 Lawrence Kyagulanyi 4:44:40 Joshua Ssenabulya 4:45:05 Hussain Sekanga 4:46:21


Ismail Kigenyi 2:01:00 Clay Mwogezi 2:09:15 Charles Bayite 2:09:17 Muzamir Batambuze 2:10:02 Muhammed Kazibwe 2:12:20 David Basulule 2:16:1

Courtesy of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here